26.12.23 vs Paget Rangers

Another draw for Sutton

Andrew Delaney27 Dec 2023 –

Sutton United completed their third straight draw with a 2-2 result away at Paget Rangers.

Twice Sutton had to come from behind in a pulsating first half where a brace each for Paget’s De-Quarnai Williams and Sutton’s Joe Gildea, had both teams level at the break. Sutton created the better chances to win it in the second half but could not break down a resilient Paget defence.

There were two big decisions that went against Sutton, the first a penalty shout when Harry Parker clipped Joe Delaney’s ankle in front of goal, after Gildea had won the ball in the penalty area. And in the second half, a goal from Tom Massey was disallowed on a questionable offside decision.

Paget had a fantastic start to the match as they took an early lead when Williams ran in behind Sutton’s high line, taking the ball around the outrushing Connor Byrne and slotting into an open net.

United upped their tempo and came close to an equaliser two minutes later, when Alex O’Keefe’s shot sailed narrowly wide of the far post after ex Sutton keeper, Josh Bennett had saved at the feet of Jon Grigg.

But it wasn’t long before Sutton did pull a goal back, as Massey threaded a pass through for Gildea to execute a clinical finish across Bennett.

United then saw chances fall to Massey, Gildea and Grigg, but it was the hosts who scored again just two minutes from the break, when Sutton failed to deal with a free kick into the box and Williams reacted to find the top corner of the net with a well-placed shot from the edge of the penalty area.
Parker should have extended the lead for Paget when he headed over from close range after some good work on the right from Williams to cross the ball at the byline.

However, it was Sutton who found an equaliser three minutes into added time, when O’Keefe picked out Gildea at the edge of the box with time to curl a shot into the back of the net.

Neither side could find that winning goal in the second half. In a frantic couple of minutes, Matt Bishop headed the ball off his own goal line with keeper Byrne stranded, and a counterattack from Sutton saw substitute Jude Malsbury put his body on the line for Paget, to deny Gildea his hat trick.

Massey’s shot from the left was well saved by Bennett at his near post and Mark Moore’s header came close from a set piece, but it was the home side who almost nicked it at the death, when they won the ball high up the pitch and after a scramble in the penalty box, Byrne finally gathered for Sutton and the whistle blew for full time.

On Saturday Sutton return home to host Coventry Copsewood at Coleshill Road for final game of 2023.

Team: Paget Rangers
1. Josh Bennett
2. Levi Henderson – 70’ Gevick Lusamba
3. Delcio Neto – 67’ Nadeer Yasin Kahssay
4. Abdulmalik Lawal Olumegbon
5. Donald Egbon – 18’ Lateef Giwa
6. Joseph Lowe
7. Nathan Weir – 45’ Jude Malsbury
8. Harry Parker
9. Dejon Miles – 58’ Anthony Umoh
10. Ryan Butler
11. De-Quarnai Williams

James Parker
Sean Feeney
Rob Francis
Peter Shearer
Dimitri Bachobvra

Team: Sutton United
1. Connor Byrne
2. Kye Billingham-Belle – 79’ Kieron McConville
3. Alex O’Keefe – 54’ Kyle Hayden
4. Matt Bishop
5. Mark Moore – 64’ Tion Pearce-Copeland
6. Pete Weston – 63’ Jake Murrell
7. Jon Grigg – 54’ Ben Friel
8. Tom Cullen – 54’ Sef Semlali
9. Joe Gildea
10. Tom Massey (c)
11. Joe Delaney

Liam Burke
Richard Heath
Matt Gough
Chris Bratt-Rose
Derek Culling

Match Officials: Kieron Rogers, Zain Moheen, Mohammed Ahsan

Paget RangersStatisticsSutton United
4Attempts on Target10
18Fouls Committed8
4Yellow Cards1
0Red Cards1
PlayerAppearancesGoalsAssistsOpp MOTM
Joe Gildea252579
Sam Price18540
Leyton Hines5411
Tom Cullen13301
Tom Massey25281
Sef Semlali23231
Kieran McConville15230
Matt Bishop17211
Jon Grigg25120
Joe Delaney5121
Shane Smith8110
Kye Billingham-Belle26100
Brad Gregory5100
Alex O’Keefe5020
Jake Murrell13010
Lewan Tobin13010
Ethan Hanks11010
Kyle Hayden6010
Ryan Delport6010
Kaine Donald4010
Will Buchanan4010
Shevron Channer3010
Lewis James21001
Mark Moore19000
Reiss Wagstaff18004
Will Jones16000
Tion Pearce-Copeland15000
Harrison Coe8000
Connor Byrne7000
Ben Friel3000
Pete Weston3000
Remi Bell3000
Sam Simmonds3000
Hassan Said2000
Daniel Cooper1000
Louis Malin1000
Matt Hurrell1000
Matt Lewis1000
Shakeer Abdelkhalek1000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *